WikiLaptop

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Laptops for Trading in 2026: 14 Picks Compared on Specs

Our top pick for trading is the Lenovo ThinkPad T16 Gen 4 with an Intel Core Ultra 7 255H: 32GB of memory, a 16-inch touchscreen, 1.79 kg, and a chip Intel lists as driving four displays with Thunderbolt 4 support. For a Mac desk with four external monitors, the 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Max is the one whose maker states that support. Every pick was chosen from stated specifications and the chip makers' published display support, not from our own testing.

14 picks from 100 laptops that match this guide with a price we can quote today. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

#PickLaptopPrice
1Best overallLenovo 2026 Laptop

$2,019.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

2Best Mac for a four-monitor deskApple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max

$6,999.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

3Most memory with a 120Hz screenHP OmniBook 7 16" 2K OLED Touchscreen Laptop
4Best mobile workstationHP ZBook 8 G1i Mobile Workstation

$2,247.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

5Lightest pickAcer Swift Go 16 AI Copilot+PC Laptop

$1,234.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

6Largest battery among Windows picksASUS Vivobook S16 Laptop

$1,664.19 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

7Best AMD ThinkPadLenovo ThinkPad P16s Gen 4 21QR001QUS 16" Copilot+ PC Mobile Workstation

$1,829.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:22 PDT - Details)

8Most storage in a ThinkPadLenovo ThinkPad E16 Gen 3

$1,139.98 (as of 10/20/2026 15:22 PDT - Details)

9Best 2TB touchscreen under 1.7 kgHP OmniBook 16" 2K Touchscreen Laptop | Intel Core Ultra 7 255U

$1,239.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

10Most memory under 1.8 kgHP ProBook 4 G1i AI Business Laptop 16.0" 60Hz IPS 64GB/512GBSSD/W11P

$1,927.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

11Best Dell for a two-monitor setupDell 16 Plus Laptop DB16250 Intel Core Ultra 7 258V 32GB LPDDR5X 2TB SSD

$1,599.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

12Best business-line DellDell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop

$1,229.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

13Best entry business pickHP EliteBook 6 G1a 16 Laptop

$1,099.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

14Largest screenHP OmniBook (Next Gen Pavilion) 17.3" FHD IPS AI Laptop

$1,239.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

Which one should you buy?

  • For a four-monitor day trading desk: The 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Max is the only pick whose maker states support for four external displays, and it lists 128GB of memory. See pick 2
  • For a Windows trader who wants one dependable machine: The ThinkPad T16 Gen 4 pairs a 16-core Core Ultra 7 255H with 32GB of memory and a stated 52.5Wh battery at 1.79 kg. See pick 1
  • For trading on the move: The Acer Swift Go 16 is the lightest pick at a stated 1.6 kg, with 32GB of memory and an AMD chip that AMD lists for up to four displays. See pick 5
  • For the biggest built-in screen: The HP OmniBook with a 17.3-inch screen gives the most chart area without an external monitor, with 32GB of memory. See pick 14

The 14 picks

1 Best overall

Lenovo 2026 Laptop

Lenovo 2026 Laptop

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 7 255H
RAM
32 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
16 in
Touchscreen
Yes
Weight
1.79 kg
Battery
52.5 Wh
OS
Windows 11 Pro

$2,019.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It combines the Core Ultra 7 255H, which Intel lists with 16 cores, support for four displays and Thunderbolt 4, with 32GB of memory, a 16-inch touchscreen and Windows 11 Pro. It is one of only three Windows picks that state both a weight and a battery size, at 1.79 kg and 52.5Wh.

Pros

  • Core Ultra 7 255H: 16 cores and four displays per Intel
  • 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD
  • Stated weight (1.79 kg) and battery (52.5Wh)
  • Windows 11 Pro and a touchscreen

Cons

  • 1TB of storage, half of the 2TB picks
  • 32GB, below the three Windows picks with 64GB

Good fit if

  • Active traders running a broker platform, charts and a spreadsheet at once
  • Traders who want one laptop for the desk and for travel

Skip if

  • You keep large tick-data archives on the laptop
  • You need a Mac for your workflow

Verdict: The most balanced trading laptop in this list, with a chip built for a multi-monitor desk.

2 Best Mac for a four-monitor desk

Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max

Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max

CPU
Apple M5 Max
RAM
128 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
16.2 in
OS
macOS

$6,999.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Apple states that the M5 Max supports up to four external displays over Thunderbolt and HDMI, the only external-display count a maker publishes for a laptop in this list. It also lists 128GB of memory, the most here, and a 2TB SSD on a 16.2-inch screen.

Pros

  • Up to four external displays, per Apple
  • 128GB of memory, the most in this list
  • 2TB SSD and a 16.2-inch screen
  • Apple lists a 100Wh battery

Cons

  • Weight not stated by the seller; Apple lists 2.15 kg, more than any weight stated for the other picks
  • Some trading platforms are built for Windows: MetaTrader 5 runs on macOS through a Wine-based installer

Good fit if

  • Traders who want four external monitors from a laptop
  • Mac users running TradingView Desktop, which has a macOS version

Skip if

  • Your broker's desktop platform is Windows-only
  • You want a light laptop to carry every day

Verdict: The most capable laptop here for a multi-monitor desk, if your platforms run on macOS.

3 Most memory with a 120Hz screen

HP OmniBook 7 16" 2K OLED Touchscreen Laptop

HP OmniBook 7 16" 2K OLED Touchscreen Laptop

CPU
Intel Core 9 270H
RAM
64 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
16 in
Refresh
120 Hz
Touchscreen
Yes
Weight
1.92 kg
OS
Windows 11 Pro

View on Amazon

It pairs 64GB of memory with a 14-core, 20-thread Intel Core 9 270H and the only 120Hz 2K OLED touchscreen named among the Windows picks. Intel lists the 270H with support for four displays.

Pros

  • 64GB of memory, tied for the most among Windows picks
  • Core 9 270H: 14 cores, 20 threads, four displays per Intel
  • 120Hz refresh rate
  • Windows 11 Pro

Cons

  • 1TB of storage
  • 1.92 kg, heavier than most 16-inch picks

Good fit if

  • Traders with many charting windows and browser tabs open all day
  • Anyone who wants a smooth 120Hz screen for scrolling charts

Skip if

  • 16GB to 32GB covers your workload
  • You carry the laptop every day

Verdict: The Windows pick for heavy multitasking on a single sharp screen.

4 Best mobile workstation

HP ZBook 8 G1i Mobile Workstation

HP ZBook 8 G1i Mobile Workstation

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 7 255H
RAM
64 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
16 in
Weight
2.09 kg

$2,247.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It is the only pick whose listing names a professional NVIDIA RTX 500 Ada graphics chip, alongside 64GB of memory and a 2TB SSD. The Core Ultra 7 255H is the same chip as our top pick, which Intel lists for four displays.

Pros

  • 64GB of memory and 2TB of storage
  • Core Ultra 7 255H: four displays per Intel
  • Listing names NVIDIA RTX 500 Ada graphics

Cons

  • 2.09 kg, the heaviest weight a seller states in this list
  • Operating system edition not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Quant traders who backtest and keep large datasets locally
  • Traders who also run modeling or visualization software

Skip if

  • You only chart and place orders
  • You want a light laptop

Verdict: The pick for traders who treat their laptop as a workstation.

5 Lightest pick

Acer Swift Go 16 AI Copilot+PC Laptop

Acer Swift Go 16 AI Copilot+PC Laptop

CPU
AMD Ryzen AI 9 465
RAM
32 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
16 in
Refresh
120 Hz
Touchscreen
Yes
Weight
1.6 kg
OS
Windows 11

$1,234.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

At a stated 1.6 kg it is the lightest laptop in this list, and it still carries 32GB of memory, a 1TB SSD and a 120Hz touchscreen. AMD lists its Ryzen AI 9 465 with 10 cores, 20 threads and up to four displays.

Pros

  • 1.6 kg, the lightest stated weight here
  • Ryzen AI 9 465: 10 cores, 20 threads, four displays per AMD
  • 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD
  • 120Hz touchscreen

Cons

  • Battery size not stated by the seller
  • Windows 11 edition not specified in the listing

Good fit if

  • Traders who follow markets from home, office and travel
  • Swing traders who want a 16-inch screen without the bulk

Skip if

  • You need more than 32GB of memory
  • You want a business line with Windows 11 Pro

Verdict: The easiest 16-inch trading laptop to carry, without cutting memory.

6 Largest battery among Windows picks

ASUS Vivobook S16 Laptop

ASUS Vivobook S16 Laptop

CPU
AMD Ryzen AI 9 465
RAM
32 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
16 in
Weight
1.7 kg
Battery
70 Wh
OS
Windows 11 Home

$1,664.19 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Its stated 70Wh battery is the largest of the Windows picks that list one, ahead of the ProBook at 56Wh and the ThinkPad T16 at 52.5Wh. It uses the same Ryzen AI 9 465 as the Acer Swift Go 16, with 32GB of memory on a 16-inch OLED screen.

Pros

  • 70Wh battery, the largest stated among Windows picks
  • Ryzen AI 9 465: four displays per AMD
  • 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD
  • 1.7 kg

Cons

  • Windows 11 Home rather than Pro
  • No touchscreen stated

Good fit if

  • Traders who watch positions away from a power outlet
  • Buyers who want an OLED screen for long sessions

Skip if

  • Your employer requires Windows 11 Pro features
  • You need more than 1TB of storage

Verdict: The Windows pick to choose when time away from the charger matters.

7 Best AMD ThinkPad

Lenovo ThinkPad P16s Gen 4 21QR001QUS 16" Copilot+ PC Mobile Workstation

Lenovo ThinkPad P16s Gen 4 21QR001QUS 16" Copilot+ PC Mobile Workstation

CPU
AMD Ryzen AI 7 PRO 350
RAM
32 GB
Storage
512 GB
Screen
16 in
Weight
1.71 kg

$1,829.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:22 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It is the only ThinkPad here with an AMD chip: the Ryzen AI 7 PRO 350, which AMD lists with 8 cores, 16 threads and up to four displays. It pairs 32GB of memory with a stated 1.71 kg.

Pros

  • Ryzen AI 7 PRO 350: 8 cores, four displays per AMD
  • 32GB of memory
  • 1.71 kg

Cons

  • 512GB of storage
  • Operating system edition not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Traders who want a ThinkPad with an AMD PRO chip
  • Chart-heavy work that needs memory more than disk

Skip if

  • You store years of market data locally
  • You want a touchscreen

Verdict: A solid 16-inch ThinkPad for traders who keep their data in the cloud.

8 Most storage in a ThinkPad

Lenovo ThinkPad E16 Gen 3

Lenovo ThinkPad E16 Gen 3

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 5 225H
RAM
32 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
16 in
OS
Windows 11 Pro

$1,139.98 (as of 10/20/2026 15:22 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It lists 2TB of storage and 32GB of memory, the most storage among the three ThinkPads here. Intel lists its Core Ultra 5 225H with 14 cores, four displays and Thunderbolt 4 support.

Pros

  • 2TB of storage
  • 32GB of memory
  • Core Ultra 5 225H: 14 cores, four displays per Intel
  • Windows 11 Pro

Cons

  • Weight not stated by the seller
  • Core Ultra 5 rather than the Core Ultra 7 in the T16 Gen 4

Good fit if

  • Traders who archive trade logs, screenshots and data files
  • Small trading offices standardizing on ThinkPads

Skip if

  • You need to know the weight before you buy
  • You want the fastest chip in the list

Verdict: A roomy ThinkPad for traders who keep everything on the laptop.

9 Best 2TB touchscreen under 1.7 kg

HP OmniBook 16" 2K Touchscreen Laptop | Intel Core Ultra 7 255U

HP OmniBook 16" 2K Touchscreen Laptop | Intel Core Ultra 7 255U

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 7 255U
RAM
32 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
16 in
Touchscreen
Yes
Weight
1.64 kg
OS
Windows 11

$1,239.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It fits 32GB of memory and 2TB of storage into a stated 1.64 kg with a 16-inch 2K touchscreen. Intel lists its Core Ultra 7 255U with 12 cores and support for four displays.

Pros

  • 2TB of storage and 32GB of memory
  • 1.64 kg, the second lightest stated weight here
  • Core Ultra 7 255U: four displays per Intel
  • 2K touchscreen

Cons

  • U-series chip, which Intel describes as power efficient rather than highest performance
  • Battery size not stated by the seller

Good fit if

  • Traders who want lots of storage in a light 16-inch laptop
  • Touch users who pinch and scroll charts

Skip if

  • You run heavy backtests locally
  • You need Windows 11 Pro

Verdict: A light, well-stocked 16-inch choice for charting and order entry.

10 Most memory under 1.8 kg

HP ProBook 4 G1i AI Business Laptop 16.0" 60Hz IPS 64GB/512GBSSD/W11P

HP ProBook 4 G1i AI Business Laptop 16.0" 60Hz IPS 64GB/512GBSSD/W11P

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 7
RAM
64 GB
Storage
512 GB
Screen
16 in
Refresh
60 Hz
Weight
1.72 kg
Battery
56 Wh
OS
Windows 11 Pro

$1,927.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It lists 64GB of memory at a stated 1.72 kg, lighter than the other two 64GB Windows picks. It also states a 56Wh battery and ships with Windows 11 Pro.

Pros

  • 64GB of memory
  • 1.72 kg with a stated 56Wh battery
  • Windows 11 Pro

Cons

  • Only 512GB of storage
  • The listing names an Intel Core Ultra 7 without the exact model, so its display support cannot be checked

Good fit if

  • Traders who keep dozens of charts and tabs open
  • Business buyers who want a ProBook with Windows 11 Pro

Skip if

  • You need to confirm multi-monitor support before buying
  • You store large files locally

Verdict: Plenty of memory in a light business laptop, with a chip you should confirm with HP.

11 Best Dell for a two-monitor setup

Dell 16 Plus Laptop DB16250 Intel Core Ultra 7 258V 32GB LPDDR5X 2TB SSD

Dell 16 Plus Laptop DB16250 Intel Core Ultra 7 258V 32GB LPDDR5X 2TB SSD

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 7 258V
RAM
32 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
16 in
Weight
1.87 kg
OS
Windows 11 Pro

$1,599.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It lists 32GB of memory, 2TB of storage and a touchscreen at 1.87 kg. Its Core Ultra 7 258V is the one chip here that Intel lists with three displays rather than four, and Intel caps its memory at 32GB.

Pros

  • 2TB of storage and 32GB of memory
  • Core Ultra 7 258V with Thunderbolt 4 per Intel
  • Touchscreen and Windows 11 Pro

Cons

  • Three displays per Intel, fewer than the four-display chips here
  • Memory cannot go past 32GB, per Intel

Good fit if

  • Traders with the laptop screen plus one or two monitors
  • Dell buyers who want storage and a touchscreen

Skip if

  • You plan a three- or four-monitor desk
  • You may need more than 32GB later

Verdict: A good Dell for a smaller desk setup, not for a wall of screens.

12 Best business-line Dell

Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop

Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop

CPU
Intel Core 5 120U
RAM
32 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
16 in
OS
Windows 11 Pro

$1,229.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It is Dell's business line in this list, with a 16-inch 2K anti-glare screen named in the listing, 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD. Intel lists its Core 5 120U with 10 cores, four displays and Thunderbolt 4 support.

Pros

  • Anti-glare 2K screen named in the listing
  • 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD
  • Core 5 120U: four displays per Intel
  • Windows 11 Pro

Cons

  • Weight not stated by the seller
  • U-series chip, which Intel describes as power efficient rather than highest performance

Good fit if

  • Office-based traders in bright rooms
  • Firms buying a standard Windows 11 Pro business laptop

Skip if

  • You run heavy analytics or backtests
  • You need to know the weight

Verdict: A sensible office trading laptop with the display support you need for a desk.

13 Best entry business pick

HP EliteBook 6 G1a 16 Laptop

HP EliteBook 6 G1a 16 Laptop

CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 220
RAM
16 GB
Storage
512 GB
Screen
16 in
Weight
1.75 kg
OS
Windows 11 Pro

$1,099.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It is the only pick with 16GB of memory, the group minimum, on an EliteBook business chassis with Windows 11 Pro. AMD lists its Ryzen 5 220 with 6 cores, 12 threads, up to four displays and native support for two USB4 ports.

Pros

  • Ryzen 5 220: four displays per AMD
  • Windows 11 Pro
  • 1.75 kg

Cons

  • 16GB of memory, the least in this list
  • 512GB of storage

Good fit if

  • Swing traders who check charts a few times a day
  • Buyers who want a business laptop with Windows 11 Pro

Skip if

  • You run several platforms and dozens of tabs at once
  • You keep large files locally

Verdict: Enough for lighter trading, with room to add monitors.

14 Largest screen

HP OmniBook (Next Gen Pavilion) 17.3" FHD IPS AI Laptop

HP OmniBook (Next Gen Pavilion) 17.3" FHD IPS AI Laptop

CPU
Intel Core Ultra 7 255U
RAM
32 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
17.3 in
OS
Windows 11

$1,239.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:21 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

Its 17.3-inch screen is the biggest in this list, for traders who want more chart area without an external monitor. It lists 32GB of memory, a 1TB SSD and the Core Ultra 7 255U, which Intel lists for four displays.

Pros

  • 17.3-inch screen, the largest here
  • 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD
  • Core Ultra 7 255U: four displays per Intel

Cons

  • Weight not stated by the seller
  • Windows 11 edition not specified in the listing

Good fit if

  • Traders who work mostly from the laptop screen
  • Home desks with limited room for monitors

Skip if

  • You travel with your laptop
  • You already use several external monitors

Verdict: The most built-in screen area for charts in this list.

Side by side

#LaptopCPUGPUGPU memoryRentable GPU modelRAMStorage
1Lenovo 2026 LaptopIntel Core Ultra 7 255Hnot statednot statednot stated32 GB1000 GB
2Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 MaxApple M5 Maxnot statednot statednot stated128 GB2000 GB
3HP OmniBook 7 16" 2K OLED Touchscreen LaptopIntel Core 9 270Hnot statednot statednot stated64 GB1000 GB
4HP ZBook 8 G1i Mobile WorkstationIntel Core Ultra 7 255Hnot statednot statednot stated64 GB2000 GB
5Acer Swift Go 16 AI Copilot+PC LaptopAMD Ryzen AI 9 465not statednot statednot stated32 GB1000 GB
6ASUS Vivobook S16 LaptopAMD Ryzen AI 9 465not statednot statednot stated32 GB1000 GB
7Lenovo ThinkPad P16s Gen 4 21QR001QUS 16" Copilot+ PC Mobile WorkstationAMD Ryzen AI 7 PRO 350not statednot statednot stated32 GB512 GB
8Lenovo ThinkPad E16 Gen 3Intel Core Ultra 5 225Hnot statednot statednot stated32 GB2000 GB
9HP OmniBook 16" 2K Touchscreen Laptop | Intel Core Ultra 7 255UIntel Core Ultra 7 255Unot statednot statednot stated32 GB2000 GB
10HP ProBook 4 G1i AI Business Laptop 16.0" 60Hz IPS 64GB/512GBSSD/W11PIntel Core Ultra 7not statednot statednot stated64 GB512 GB
11Dell 16 Plus Laptop DB16250 Intel Core Ultra 7 258V 32GB LPDDR5X 2TB SSDIntel Core Ultra 7 258Vnot statednot statednot stated32 GB2000 GB
12Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business LaptopIntel Core 5 120Unot statednot statednot stated32 GB1000 GB
13HP EliteBook 6 G1a 16 LaptopAMD Ryzen 5 220not statednot statednot stated16 GB512 GB
14HP OmniBook (Next Gen Pavilion) 17.3" FHD IPS AI LaptopIntel Core Ultra 7 255Unot statednot statednot stated32 GB1000 GB

How we picked

How we picked: the catalogue held 73 laptops that match our trading group, which covers listings with a screen of 16 inches or more, at least 16GB of memory and no gaming graphics, because charts want screen area and memory rather than frame rate. The listings do not state how many external monitors a laptop can run, so we looked up each chip on the Intel, AMD or Apple spec page and favored chips with published multi-display support. We kept established makers in new condition, one configuration per model, and skipped entry chips such as Intel N-series and older U-series parts. Prices on this page are live and read from the store listing, with the time shown next to each one. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has tested these units.

How to choose

Monitors: check the chip, then the ports

Most traders end up at a desk with two or more monitors, and the laptop listings do not say how many a machine can drive. The chip makers do. Intel and AMD list the number of displays each chip supports, and Apple lists external displays for each MacBook Pro chip. In this list, 11 of the 13 Windows picks use a chip its maker lists for four displays, the Dell 16 Plus uses one listed for three, and the ProBook's listing does not name its exact chip.

The chip is only the ceiling. The number of video-capable ports (HDMI, USB-C with DisplayPort, Thunderbolt) and whether you use a dock decide how many monitors you can plug in. Check the maker's spec sheet for your exact model before you build a four-screen desk.

Memory: 32GB is the comfortable middle

Broker platforms, charting apps, a browser full of research tabs and a spreadsheet all sit in memory at once. Every laptop in our trading group has at least 16GB. In this list, one pick has 16GB, nine have 32GB, three have 64GB and one has 128GB. For most active traders 32GB leaves headroom; 64GB and up suits heavy multitasking, local backtests and data work.

Screen size and weight

Every pick has a screen of 16 inches or more: 12 at 16 inches, the MacBook Pro at 16.2 inches and one HP at 17.3 inches. Among the picks whose seller states a weight, the range runs from 1.6 kg (Acer Swift Go 16) to 2.09 kg (HP ZBook 8 G1i). If the laptop mostly drives external monitors, its own screen matters less than its display support.

You do not need gaming graphics

Charting and order entry run fine on the graphics built into modern Intel, AMD and Apple chips, which is why our trading group excludes gaming GPUs. The one pick with a separate graphics chip, the HP ZBook 8 G1i, names a professional NVIDIA RTX 500 Ada in its listing. It makes sense if you also run modeling or visualization software, not for charts alone.

Mac or Windows: check your platform

TradingView Desktop offers versions for Windows, macOS and Linux and supports multi-monitor workspaces. MetaTrader 5 runs on macOS through an installer that sets up Wine, a Windows compatibility layer. Some broker and futures platforms are Windows-only, so confirm with your broker before choosing a Mac. In this list, one pick runs macOS and the rest run Windows.

Questions

How many monitors can a trading laptop run?

It depends on the chip and the ports. Apple states that the M5 Max in the 16-inch MacBook Pro supports up to four external displays. Intel and AMD list four displays for most chips in this list, including the Core Ultra 7 255H and Ryzen AI 9 465, and three for the Core Ultra 7 258V. The laptop's HDMI, USB-C and Thunderbolt ports, and any dock, decide how many you can actually connect.

How much RAM do I need for day trading?

Our trading group starts at 16GB, which suits lighter use such as a broker app and a few charts. Most picks here have 32GB, which leaves room for several platforms, many browser tabs and a spreadsheet at once. Three Windows picks list 64GB and the MacBook Pro lists 128GB, useful if you backtest or analyze data on the same machine.

Do I need a graphics card for trading?

No. Charting software, broker platforms and spreadsheets run on the graphics built into the processor. Our trading group excludes gaming GPUs for that reason. What matters more is how many displays the chip supports and which video ports the laptop has. The only pick here with a separate graphics chip is the HP ZBook 8 G1i, a workstation for traders who also run heavier analysis software.

Is a MacBook good for trading?

Yes, if your platforms run on macOS. TradingView Desktop has a macOS version, and MetaTrader 5 installs on macOS through a Wine-based installer from its maker. Some broker desktop platforms are Windows-only, so check with your broker first. The 16-inch MacBook Pro with M5 Max in this list supports up to four external displays, per Apple.

Is a 16-inch screen enough, or do I need external monitors?

A 16-inch screen fits a platform and one or two charts. Most active traders add at least one external monitor for watchlists and order entry. If you rarely use monitors, the 17.3-inch HP OmniBook in this list gives the most built-in space. If you plan a multi-screen desk, choose by display support first and screen size second.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides