WikiLaptop

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best 14.2 Inch Laptops: 3 MacBook Pro Picks Compared

Our top pick is the 14-inch MacBook Pro with the M5 chip: it has the same 14.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR screen as the M5 Max models, 16GB of memory and 1TB of storage, and at 1.55 kg it is the lightest of the three. Choose an M5 Max configuration if you edit high-resolution video, build 3D scenes or run large local AI models. Every 14.2-inch laptop in our catalogue is a MacBook Pro. We compared them on Apple's published specifications, not on lab tests.

3 picks from 12 laptops that match this guide with a price we can quote today. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

#PickLaptopPrice
1Best overallApple 2025 MacBook Pro Laptop

$1,849.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

2Best M5 Max configurationApple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop

$3,844.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

3Most memoryApple MacBook Pro with M5 Max

$6,699.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

Which one should you buy?

  • For most people: The M5 model gives you the full 14.2-inch XDR screen, 16GB of memory and 1TB of storage at 1.55 kg. See pick 1
  • For video and 3D professionals: The M5 Max with an 18-core CPU and 32-core GPU pairs 36GB of memory with 2TB of storage and Thunderbolt 5. See pick 2
  • For large AI models and datasets: The M5 Max with a 40-core GPU and 128GB of memory is the most memory Apple offers in the 14-inch MacBook Pro. See pick 3

The 3 picks

1 Best overall

Apple 2025 MacBook Pro Laptop

Apple 2025 MacBook Pro Laptop

CPU
Apple M5
RAM
16 GB
Storage
1000 GB
Screen
14.2 in
Weight
1.55 kg
OS
macOS

$1,849.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It shares the 14.2-inch 3024 x 1964 Liquid Retina XDR screen with ProMotion up to 120Hz and the 72.4Wh battery that Apple lists for every 14-inch model. The M5 has a 10-core CPU and 10-core GPU, and this configuration comes with 16GB of memory and 1TB of storage.

Pros

  • 1.55 kg, the lightest of the three
  • Same 14.2-inch XDR screen as the M5 Max models
  • 1TB of storage
  • 72.4Wh battery per Apple

Cons

  • 16GB of memory; Apple offers the M5 with up to 32GB
  • Three Thunderbolt 4 ports per Apple, where the M5 Max models have Thunderbolt 5

Good fit if

  • Developers, writers and photographers who want a portable Mac
  • Students and professionals who edit photos or light video

Skip if

  • You work with very high-resolution video or large 3D scenes
  • You run local AI models that need more than 16GB of memory

Verdict: The 14.2-inch MacBook Pro most buyers need.

2 Best M5 Max configuration

Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop

Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop

CPU
Apple M5 Max
RAM
36 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
14.2 in
Weight
1.63 kg
OS
macOS

$3,844.99 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It steps up to the M5 Max with an 18-core CPU and 32-core GPU, which Apple pairs with 36GB of memory, plus 2TB of storage. Apple lists three Thunderbolt 5 ports, HDMI and an SD card slot on M5 Max models.

Pros

  • M5 Max: 18-core CPU and 32-core GPU
  • 36GB of memory and 2TB of storage
  • Three Thunderbolt 5 ports per Apple

Cons

  • 1.63 kg per the listing (Apple lists 1.62 kg), heavier than the M5 model
  • 36GB is the only memory size Apple offers with the 32-core GPU

Good fit if

  • Video editors working with high-resolution footage
  • 3D artists and developers who need a stronger GPU

Skip if

  • Your work is mostly documents, browsing and photos
  • You want 64GB or more of memory

Verdict: The balanced M5 Max choice for professional media work.

3 Most memory

Apple MacBook Pro with M5 Max

Apple MacBook Pro with M5 Max

CPU
Apple M5 Max
RAM
128 GB
Storage
2000 GB
Screen
14.2 in
OS
macOS

$6,699.00 (as of 10/20/2026 15:20 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

It carries the M5 Max with an 18-core CPU and 40-core GPU and 128GB of unified memory, the most Apple offers in the 14-inch MacBook Pro, with 2TB of storage. It suits workloads that keep very large models or datasets in memory.

Pros

  • 128GB of memory, the maximum for the 14-inch MacBook Pro per Apple
  • 40-core GPU, the larger M5 Max option
  • 2TB of storage

Cons

  • Weight not stated by the seller
  • More memory than most creative work needs

Good fit if

  • Developers running large local AI models
  • Data scientists who work with large in-memory datasets

Skip if

  • Your projects fit in 36GB
  • You want the lightest 14.2-inch option

Verdict: The configuration for memory-bound work that cannot wait for a desktop.

Side by side

#LaptopCPUGPUGPU memoryRentable GPU modelRAMStorage
1Apple 2025 MacBook Pro LaptopApple M5not statednot statednot stated16 GB1000 GB
2Apple 2026 MacBook Pro LaptopApple M5 Maxnot statednot statednot stated36 GB2000 GB
3Apple MacBook Pro with M5 MaxApple M5 Maxnot statednot statednot stated128 GB2000 GB

How we picked

How we picked: the pool for this page held three listings that state a 14.2-inch screen, and all three are here. All are Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch models: one with the M5 chip and two with the M5 Max in different GPU and memory configurations. Display, battery, port and memory facts come from Apple's technical specifications page; weights come from the listings and are checked against Apple's figures. Prices on this page are live: each one is read from the store listing and shown with the time it was read. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has tested these units; every comparison is drawn from the stated specifications.

How to choose

Why the screen is 14.2 inches

Apple measures the 14-inch MacBook Pro display at 14.2 inches diagonal. The Liquid Retina XDR panel has a 3024 x 1964 resolution at 254 pixels per inch and ProMotion adaptive refresh up to 120Hz, and Apple lists it at 1600 nits peak HDR brightness. Every model here uses the same panel, so the screen does not decide between them. Apple also offers a nano-texture version as a build option.

M5 or M5 Max

Per Apple, the M5 has a 10-core CPU and 10-core GPU, while the M5 Max has an 18-core CPU with a 32-core or 40-core GPU. The M5 Max models have three Thunderbolt 5 ports per Apple's specifications page, where the M5 has three Thunderbolt 4 ports.

For documents, coding and photo editing, the M5 is enough. Choose the M5 Max for heavy video, 3D and AI work.

Memory: choose it at purchase

Apple offers the M5 with 16GB, 24GB or 32GB, the M5 Max with a 32-core GPU with 36GB, and the M5 Max with a 40-core GPU with 48GB, 64GB or 128GB. The listings here are fixed configurations, so buy the memory you expect to need for the life of the laptop.

Weight and battery

Apple lists 1.55 kg for the M5 model and 1.62 kg for the M5 Max. All 14-inch models carry a 72.4Wh battery per Apple, although the chips draw different power, so battery life differs by configuration.

Questions

Why is the screen 14.2 inches and not 14?

Apple states the display size as 14.2 inches measured diagonally, so the figure is a precise measurement of what is sold as a 14-inch class laptop. Apple sells it as the 14-inch MacBook Pro, and every 14.2-inch laptop in our catalogue is one of these models.

Is a 14.2-inch MacBook Pro good for video editing?

It can be, depending on the chip and memory. The screen is the same on every model, with ProMotion up to 120Hz and 1600 nits peak HDR brightness per Apple. For light editing, the M5 with 16GB works; for high-resolution footage and effects, choose an M5 Max configuration with 36GB or more.

Can I upgrade memory or storage later?

Plan as if you cannot. Apple sells memory and storage as build options chosen at purchase, and the listings here are fixed configurations. Buy the capacity you need for the years you plan to keep the laptop, or use external drives through the Thunderbolt ports for extra storage.

Did you test these laptops?

No. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has used these units. We compared them on the specifications stated on each listing and on Apple's own technical specifications page. We do not describe speed in specific apps, heat or keyboard feel, because those claims would need testing we have not done.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides