Best Apple M5 Max Laptops: 8 MacBook Pro Configurations Compared
Our top pick is the 16-inch MacBook Pro with a 40-core-GPU M5 Max, 128GB of memory and 2TB of storage: it reaches Apple's memory ceiling for the chip and pairs it with the larger screen and Apple's 100Wh battery. The other seven cover the 14-inch body, the 32-core-GPU version with 36GB, and configurations with 4TB and 8TB of storage. We chose them from Apple's published specifications and the listings, not from lab tests.
8 picks from 11 laptops that match this guide with a price we can quote today. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Laptop | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Best overall | Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max | |
| 2 | Lightest M5 Max | Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop | $3,844.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details) |
| 3 | Most memory in a 14-inch | Apple MacBook Pro with M5 Max | $6,699.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details) |
| 4 | Best 16-inch with 4TB | Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max | $7,999.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details) |
| 5 | Most storage | (CTO) Apple 14-inch MacBook Pro | $7,009.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details) |
| 6 | Best 16-inch with 36GB | Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop | |
| 7 | Custom-order 16-inch with 2TB | (CTO) Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro | $6,911.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details) |
| 8 | Custom-order 16-inch with 4TB | (CTO) Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro | $7,895.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details) |
Which one should you buy?
- For 3D, simulation and local AI: The 16-inch model with 128GB and a 40-core GPU gives Apple's maximum M5 Max memory on the larger screen. See pick 1
- For creators who travel: The 14-inch model with 36GB and a 32-core GPU weighs 1.63 kg, the lightest stated weight in this list. See pick 2
- For big AI models in a small body: The 14.2-inch model with 128GB fits Apple's highest memory option into the smaller MacBook Pro. See pick 3
- For huge media libraries: The custom-order 14-inch model with 8TB has the most storage in this list, the maximum Apple lists for the M5 Max. See pick 5
The 8 picks
1 Best overall
Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 128 GB
- Storage
- 2000 GB
- Screen
- 16.2 in
- OS
- macOS
It combines the 40-core-GPU M5 Max with 128GB of memory, the most Apple offers for this chip, on the 16.2-inch screen with the 100Wh battery Apple lists for the 16-inch model. It is the configuration that fits the M5 Max's purpose: heavy, sustained professional work.
Pros
- 128GB of memory, Apple's maximum for M5 Max
- 40-core GPU per the listing
- 16.2-inch display and 100Wh battery per Apple
- Up to four external displays per Apple
Cons
- 2TB of storage, while 4TB and 8TB versions exist in this list
- Weight not stated by the seller; Apple lists the 16-inch M5 Max at 4.7 pounds
Good fit if
- 3D artists and simulation users with very large scenes
- Developers running large local AI models
Skip if
- Your projects fit in 36GB
- You carry your laptop every day
Verdict: The M5 Max configuration that uses the chip to its full extent.
2 Lightest M5 Max
Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 36 GB
- Storage
- 2000 GB
- Screen
- 14.2 in
- Weight
- 1.63 kg
- OS
- macOS
$3,844.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details)
The 14.2-inch model with the 32-core-GPU M5 Max, 36GB of memory and 2TB of storage weighs 1.63 kg, the lightest stated weight in this list. It keeps the 18-core CPU of every M5 Max pick.
Pros
- 1.63 kg, the lightest stated weight here
- 18-core CPU per the listing
- 2TB of storage
Cons
- 32-core GPU, below the 40-core picks
- 36GB of memory, the least in this list (shared with two others)
Good fit if
- Video editors who travel with their work
- Creators who want Max-tier CPU cores in a compact body
Skip if
- You work with very large 3D scenes or AI models
- You want the largest screen
Verdict: The most portable way into the M5 Max.
3 Most memory in a 14-inch
Apple MacBook Pro with M5 Max
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 128 GB
- Storage
- 2000 GB
- Screen
- 14.2 in
- OS
- macOS
$6,699.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details)
This 14.2-inch model pairs the 40-core-GPU M5 Max with 128GB of memory and 2TB of storage. It is the only 14-inch pick with 128GB, so it suits heavy workloads that also need to travel.
Pros
- 128GB of memory, tied for the most
- 40-core GPU per the listing
- 14.2-inch size, easier to carry than the 16-inch picks
Cons
- Weight not stated by the seller; Apple lists the 14-inch M5 Max at 3.6 pounds
- 72.4Wh battery per Apple, smaller than the 16-inch model's 100Wh
Good fit if
- AI developers who run large models away from a desk
- Consultants who present heavy 3D or data work on site
Skip if
- You work mostly at a desk, where the 16-inch screen helps
- 36GB covers your projects
Verdict: Full M5 Max memory in the smaller MacBook Pro.
4 Best 16-inch with 4TB
Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 128 GB
- Storage
- 4000 GB
- Screen
- 16.2 in
- OS
- macOS
$7,999.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details)
The same 16.2-inch, 40-core-GPU, 128GB machine as our top pick, with 4TB of storage instead of 2TB. Since storage is fixed at purchase, it suits users who keep large projects on the laptop.
Pros
- 4TB of storage
- 128GB of memory and a 40-core GPU per the listing
- 100Wh battery per Apple
Cons
- Near-duplicate of our top pick apart from storage
- Weight not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- Video editors who keep active projects on internal storage
- Users who dislike external drives on the go
Skip if
- 2TB plus external storage works for you
- You want a smaller laptop
Verdict: Our top pick with double the storage.
5 Most storage
(CTO) Apple 14-inch MacBook Pro
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 36 GB
- Storage
- 8000 GB
- Screen
- 14 in
$7,009.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details)
This custom-order 14-inch model has 8TB of storage, the most in this list and the maximum Apple lists for the M5 Max. It pairs that with the 32-core-GPU M5 Max and 36GB of memory, and the listing names a 96W adapter.
Pros
- 8TB of storage, the most in this list
- 18-core CPU and 32-core GPU per the listing
- 14-inch size
Cons
- 36GB of memory against 8TB of storage is an unusual balance for heavy compute work
- Operating system and weight not stated in the specification fields
Good fit if
- Photographers and filmmakers who carry whole archives
- Field workers without reliable cloud access
Skip if
- You need more memory rather than more storage
- Cloud or external storage suits your workflow
Verdict: The storage-first M5 Max configuration.
6 Best 16-inch with 36GB
Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 36 GB
- Storage
- 2000 GB
- Screen
- 16.2 in
- Weight
- 2.15 kg
- OS
- macOS
The 16.2-inch model with the 32-core-GPU M5 Max, 36GB of memory and 2TB of storage weighs 2.15 kg. It gives the larger screen and 100Wh battery without paying for 128GB.
Pros
- 16.2-inch display and 100Wh battery per Apple
- 2TB of storage
- Stated weight of 2.15 kg
Cons
- 32-core GPU, below the 40-core picks
- 36GB of memory
Good fit if
- Editors who work on the built-in screen for long sessions
- Users who want Max-tier CPU cores but not maximum memory
Skip if
- You need 128GB
- You want the lightest M5 Max
Verdict: The large-screen M5 Max for buyers who do not need 128GB.
7 Custom-order 16-inch with 2TB
(CTO) Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 128 GB
- Storage
- 2000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
$6,911.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details)
A custom-order listing of the 16-inch MacBook Pro in Space Black with the 40-core-GPU M5 Max, 128GB and 2TB, the same chip, memory and storage as our top pick. The listing names a 140W adapter.
Pros
- 128GB of memory and a 40-core GPU per the listing
- 2TB of storage
- Space Black finish named in the listing
Cons
- Same configuration as our top pick
- Operating system and weight not stated in the specification fields
Good fit if
- Buyers who specifically want the Space Black finish
- Anyone for whom the top pick's listing is unavailable
Skip if
- The standard listing of this configuration is available to you
- 36GB is enough for your work
Verdict: An alternative listing of our top configuration.
8 Custom-order 16-inch with 4TB
(CTO) Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro
- CPU
- Apple M5 Max
- RAM
- 128 GB
- Storage
- 4000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
$7,895.00 (as of 10/20/2026 16:20 PDT - Details)
A custom-order 16-inch listing in Space Black with the 40-core-GPU M5 Max, 128GB and 4TB, matching our 4TB 16-inch pick in chip, memory and storage. The listing names a 140W adapter.
Pros
- 128GB of memory and 4TB of storage
- 40-core GPU per the listing
- Space Black finish named in the listing
Cons
- Same configuration as the standard 4TB 16-inch pick
- Operating system and weight not stated in the specification fields
Good fit if
- Buyers who want the 4TB configuration in Space Black
- Studios ordering a matching fleet
Skip if
- The standard 4TB listing is available to you
- You prefer a 14-inch laptop
Verdict: An alternative listing of the 4TB 16-inch configuration.
Side by side
| # | Laptop | CPU | GPU | GPU memory | Rentable GPU model | RAM | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 128 GB | 2000 GB |
| 2 | Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 36 GB | 2000 GB |
| 3 | Apple MacBook Pro with M5 Max | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 128 GB | 2000 GB |
| 4 | Apple MacBook Pro Laptop with M5 Max | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 128 GB | 4000 GB |
| 5 | (CTO) Apple 14-inch MacBook Pro | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 36 GB | 8000 GB |
| 6 | Apple 2026 MacBook Pro Laptop | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 36 GB | 2000 GB |
| 7 | (CTO) Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 128 GB | 2000 GB |
| 8 | (CTO) Apple 16-inch MacBook Pro | Apple M5 Max | not stated | not stated | not stated | 128 GB | 4000 GB |
How we picked
How we picked: our catalogue holds eight laptops whose listings state an Apple M5 Max, and all eight appear here because the pool is smaller than our usual shortlist of twelve. They are four chip, memory and storage combinations in two sizes, so several entries repeat a configuration: two custom-order 16-inch listings match standard 16-inch configurations in chip, memory and storage, and each entry says what sets it apart. GPU core counts come from the listing names; memory, battery, display support and weight ranges come from Apple's MacBook Pro specification page. Prices on this page are live: each one is read from the store listing and shown with the time it was read. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has tested these units.
How to choose
32-core or 40-core GPU
Apple lists the M5 Max with an 18-core CPU and a GPU of up to 40 cores. In this list, the three 36GB configurations carry the 32-core GPU, and the five 128GB configurations the 40-core GPU, per their listings.
The extra GPU cores matter most for 3D rendering, GPU effects in video, and AI work on the GPU. For CPU-heavy tasks such as code builds, both versions share the same 18-core CPU.
Memory: 36GB or 128GB
Memory is fixed at purchase and the picks here come in only two sizes. 36GB covers most video editing, photo work and development. 128GB, Apple's maximum for the M5 Max, is for very large 3D scenes, many high-resolution video streams, big datasets or large local AI models, where the GPU shares the same unified memory pool.
If you are unsure, size memory to your largest real project rather than your average one.
14-inch or 16-inch
Apple lists the 14-inch M5 Max at 3.6 pounds with a 72.4Wh battery, and the 16-inch at 4.7 pounds with a 100Wh battery. The stated weights in this list are 1.63 kg for the 14-inch and 2.15 kg for the 16-inch; six listings do not state a weight.
The 14-inch suits travel; the 16-inch suits long sessions on the built-in screen.
Storage: 2TB, 4TB or 8TB
Five picks have 2TB, two have 4TB and one has 8TB, Apple's maximum for the chip. Video and photo archives fill space fastest. Since storage cannot be added inside later, decide whether a fast external drive would serve you before paying for the largest internal option.
Questions
How does the M5 Max differ from the M5 Pro and M5?
Per Apple, the M5 Max adds more GPU cores (up to 40), supports up to 128GB of memory and drives up to four external displays. The M5 Pro supports up to 64GB and three displays, and the base M5 up to 32GB and two displays. For lighter work, the differences matter less than memory size.
Do I need 128GB of memory?
Only if your largest projects need it: big 3D scenes, many video streams, large datasets or local AI models that must fit in memory. Most professional video and photo work runs with 36GB. Because memory cannot be upgraded, estimate from your heaviest real project, not your average day.
Can an M5 Max MacBook Pro run Windows software?
Not natively. Most major creative apps have macOS versions, and Windows for Arm can run inside virtualization software with varying compatibility. Check your essential tools, especially engineering, CAD or other specialist software, before you buy, and confirm whether the vendor supports running it in a virtual machine on a Mac.
Did you test these laptops?
No. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has used these units. We compared the specifications on each listing with Apple's own specification pages, and we do not describe heat, noise, battery runtime or keyboard feel, since those claims need testing we have not done.
Why do prices on this page change?
Each price is read live from the store listing and shown with the time it was read. Prices of high-end configurations move with promotions and stock, so we never write price comparisons into the text. Open the listing and confirm the GPU cores, memory and storage before you buy.
Recent updates
- : First published.




