Best Intel Core 5 120U Laptops in 2026: 5 Configurations Compared
Our top pick is the Dell Pro 16 PC16250 with 32GB of memory and a 1TB SSD: it doubles the memory of the entry configurations without jumping to the 64GB model, and it keeps the 16-inch 2K anti-glare screen and Windows 11 Pro. All five Core 5 120U laptops in our catalogue are configurations of this same Dell Pro 16, so the choice comes down to memory, storage and who sells it. We compared them on stated specifications and Intel's published chip data, not on lab tests.
5 picks from 7 laptops that match this guide with a price we can quote today. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Laptop | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Best overall | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | $1,229.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details) |
| 2 | Most memory | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | $1,599.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details) |
| 3 | Best 16GB configuration | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | $1,049.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details) |
| 4 | Entry configuration | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | $959.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details) |
| 5 | Only listing with a stated weight and battery | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Laptop | $999.98 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details) |
Which one should you buy?
- For most office users: The 32GB, 1TB configuration leaves room for many browser tabs, large spreadsheets and video calls at once, on Windows 11 Pro. See pick 1
- For virtual machines and heavy multitasking: The 64GB configuration is the most memory in this list, within the 96GB maximum Intel lists for the chip. See pick 2
- For buyers who want a known weight and battery size: The reseller listing is the only one that states a weight (1.92 kg) and a battery capacity (55Wh). See pick 5
The 5 picks
1 Best overall
Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core 5 120U
- RAM
- 32 GB
- Storage
- 1000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- OS
- Windows 11 Pro
$1,229.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details)
It sits in the middle of this list: 32GB of memory, twice the 16GB of three other configurations, and a 1TB SSD. It keeps the 16-inch 2K IPS anti-glare screen named in the listing and ships with Windows 11 Pro.
Pros
- 32GB of DDR5 memory, double the 16GB configurations
- 1TB SSD, twice the 512GB configurations
- 16-inch 2K IPS anti-glare screen per the listing
- Windows 11 Pro
Cons
- Weight not stated by the seller
- Battery capacity not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- Office workers who keep many apps and tabs open
- Small businesses that need Windows 11 Pro features such as BitLocker
Skip if
- You run several virtual machines: the 64GB configuration fits better
- You want a dedicated graphics card for games or 3D work
Verdict: The balanced Core 5 120U configuration for most business buyers.
2 Most memory
Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core 5 120U
- RAM
- 64 GB
- Storage
- 1000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- OS
- Windows 11 Pro
$1,599.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details)
It is the only configuration here with 64GB of memory, four times the entry models. Intel lists a 96GB maximum for the Core 5 120U, so this is close to the top of what the chip supports.
Pros
- 64GB of DDR5 memory, the most in this list
- 1TB SSD
- 16-inch 2K IPS anti-glare screen per the listing
- Windows 11 Pro
Cons
- The processor is unchanged: 2 performance cores and 8 efficient cores per Intel, the same as the 16GB models
- Weight and battery capacity not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- Users who run virtual machines or large datasets in memory
- Buyers who want to avoid a memory upgrade for years
Skip if
- Your work is email, documents and browsing, where 32GB is already generous
- You need more processor power: a larger memory pool does not add cores
Verdict: Pick it only if your workload truly fills memory; otherwise the 32GB model covers the same ground.
3 Best 16GB configuration
Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core 5 120U
- RAM
- 16 GB
- Storage
- 1000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- OS
- Windows 11 Pro
$1,049.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details)
It pairs 16GB of memory with a 1TB SSD, so it gives twice the storage of the two 16GB, 512GB listings. The rest matches the other Dell listings: 16-inch 2K anti-glare screen and Windows 11 Pro.
Pros
- 1TB SSD, the most among the 16GB configurations
- 16-inch 2K IPS anti-glare screen per the listing
- Windows 11 Pro
Cons
- 16GB of memory, half the Best overall pick
- Weight and battery capacity not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- Users who keep large local files such as photo libraries
- Office workers with moderate multitasking needs
Skip if
- You keep dozens of tabs and apps open all day
- You store most files in the cloud, where the 512GB models may be enough
Verdict: The 16GB choice for buyers who need local storage more than memory.
4 Entry configuration
Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core 5 120U
- RAM
- 16 GB
- Storage
- 512 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- OS
- Windows 11 Pro
$959.99 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details)
It is the smallest of the Dell-branded configurations: 16GB of memory and a 512GB SSD. It keeps the same 16-inch 2K anti-glare screen and Windows 11 Pro as the larger models.
Pros
- 16GB of DDR5 memory, a comfortable baseline for office work
- 16-inch 2K IPS anti-glare screen per the listing
- Windows 11 Pro
Cons
- 512GB SSD, the smallest storage in this list (tied with the reseller listing)
- Weight and battery capacity not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- Office and school users who work mostly in the browser and cloud storage
- Buyers who want the Dell Pro 16 with the fewest extras
Skip if
- You keep large media libraries on the laptop
- You want a stated battery capacity: only the reseller listing gives one
Verdict: A plain starting configuration of the Dell Pro 16.
5 Only listing with a stated weight and battery
Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core 5 120U
- RAM
- 16 GB
- Storage
- 512 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- Weight
- 1.92 kg
- Battery
- 55 Wh
- OS
- Windows 11 Pro
$999.98 (as of 10/20/2026 16:21 PDT - Details)
This is a Dell Pro 16 PC16250 configuration sold by a reseller, with 16GB of memory and a 512GB SSD. It is the only listing in this list that states a weight, 1.92 kg, and a battery capacity, 55Wh.
Pros
- Stated weight of 1.92 kg
- Stated battery capacity of 55Wh
- 16GB of DDR5 memory and Windows 11 Pro
Cons
- Reseller configuration: confirm who provides the warranty and support
- 512GB SSD, the smallest storage in this list (tied with the Dell entry listing)
- Screen resolution not stated in the listing
Good fit if
- Buyers who want known weight and battery figures before buying
- Office users with modest storage needs
Skip if
- You prefer a listing under the maker's own brand
- You need more than 16GB of memory
Verdict: Same laptop class as the Dell entry configuration, with more stated detail and a reseller in between.
Side by side
| # | Laptop | CPU | GPU | GPU memory | Rentable GPU model | RAM | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | Intel Core 5 120U | not stated | not stated | not stated | 32 GB | 1000 GB |
| 2 | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | Intel Core 5 120U | not stated | not stated | not stated | 64 GB | 1000 GB |
| 3 | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | Intel Core 5 120U | not stated | not stated | not stated | 16 GB | 1000 GB |
| 4 | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Business Laptop | Intel Core 5 120U | not stated | not stated | not stated | 16 GB | 512 GB |
| 5 | Dell Pro 16 PC16250 Laptop | Intel Core 5 120U | not stated | not stated | not stated | 16 GB | 512 GB |
How we picked
How we picked: our catalogue holds five laptops whose listing states an Intel Core 5 120U, and this guide covers all five. Every one is a Dell Pro 16 PC16250, so the picks are near-duplicates by nature; we kept them all because each differs in memory, storage or seller, and we say which is which. One listing is a configuration sold by a reseller rather than a plain Dell listing, and we label it. Processor facts come from Intel's specification page. Prices on this page are live: each one is read from the store listing and shown with the time it was read. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has tested these units; every comparison below is drawn from the stated specifications.
How to choose
What the Core 5 120U is
Intel lists the Core 5 120U with 10 cores (2 performance cores and 8 efficient cores), 12 threads, a maximum turbo frequency of 5 GHz, a 15W processor base power and a 55W maximum turbo power. It belongs to Intel's Core processors (Series 1) family and uses Intel Graphics built into the chip. Intel's processor number guide describes the U suffix as power efficient.
That profile fits office software, web apps, video calls and streaming. It is not built for modern games or heavy video work; for those, choose a laptop with an H-series chip and a separate graphics card.
Memory: the real difference between these picks
Because every pick here is the same Dell Pro 16 with the same processor, memory is the main thing you choose. Three configurations have 16GB, one has 32GB and one has 64GB. 16GB is a comfortable baseline for office work; 32GB helps if you keep many browser tabs, large spreadsheets or a virtual machine open; 64GB is for workloads that truly fill memory.
Intel lists a 96GB maximum and support for DDR5 up to 5200 MT/s for this chip. If you plan to upgrade later, check Dell's service documentation for your exact configuration before buying.
Storage: 512GB or 1TB
Two listings have a 512GB SSD and three have 1TB. If most of your files live in cloud storage, 512GB is workable. If you keep photo libraries, local project folders or offline copies of large files, the 1TB configurations give you twice the room.
Windows 11 Pro and what it adds
All five listings state Windows 11 Pro. Microsoft's comparison of Home and Pro lists BitLocker drive encryption as a Pro feature, which matters if the laptop holds business data or if your workplace manages its devices. If you are buying for home use, Pro does no harm, but you may never use its extra features.
Seller and missing details
Four listings are under the Dell brand and one is a configuration sold by a reseller. With a reseller, confirm who handles warranty claims and whether the memory or storage was changed from the factory build.
Only the reseller listing states a weight (1.92 kg) and a battery capacity (55Wh). For the other four, the weight and battery are not stated by the seller, so check Dell's own specification page for the Pro 16 PC16250 if those numbers matter to you.
Questions
Is the Intel Core 5 120U good for gaming?
Only for light or older games. Intel lists it with integrated Intel Graphics and a 15W base power, and none of the laptops in this list has a separate graphics card. Modern releases need a laptop with a dedicated GPU, usually paired with an H-series processor. For office work, browsing, video calls and streaming, the chip is a sensible fit.
How does the Core 5 120U compare with the Core 7 150U?
Intel lists both with the same layout: 10 cores (2 performance and 8 efficient), 12 threads, 12MB of cache, 15W base power and 55W maximum turbo power. The Core 7 150U has a higher maximum turbo frequency, 5.4 GHz against 5 GHz for the Core 5 120U. For typical office work the rest of the laptop, memory and storage in particular, matters more than that gap.
Does the Core 5 120U have an NPU for AI features?
Intel's specification page for the Core 5 120U does not list an Intel AI Boost NPU; it lists the Intel Gaussian and Neural Accelerator 3.0. If on-device AI features that require a dedicated NPU matter to you, look at Intel Core Ultra laptops instead, and check the software's own requirements.
Why are all the picks the same Dell laptop?
Because those are the only Core 5 120U laptops in our catalogue right now. This guide lists every one of them rather than padding it with other chips. The listings differ in memory (16GB, 32GB or 64GB), storage (512GB or 1TB) and seller. As more Core 5 120U laptops appear in the catalogue, this guide will grow.
Did you test these laptops?
No. Nobody at wikilaptop.org has run these units. We chose and compared them from the specifications stated on each listing and from Intel's published processor data. We do not describe heat, noise, keyboard feel or battery runtime, because those claims need testing that has not been done.
Recent updates
- : First published.

