Best 90Wh Battery Laptops in 2026: 3 Picks Compared on Specs
If you want a 90Wh battery in a laptop built for demanding work, the MSI Crosshair 18 HX AI is our top pick: it pairs the 90Wh battery with an Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX, an RTX 5070 GPU, 32GB of RAM, and an 18-inch 2560x1600 240Hz display. All three laptops in this guide carry a 90Wh battery, according to their listings. We selected them from the laptop pool matching that battery capacity and compared only the specifications the sellers state; nobody on our staff has tested these units.
3 picks from 4 laptops that match this guide with a price we can quote today. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Laptop | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Best overall | msi Crosshair 18 HX AI 18" 2560x1600 240Hz Display Gaming Laptop | $2,049.99 (as of 10/20/2026 19:22 PDT - Details) |
| 2 | Best for portable gaming | ASUS TUF F16 Gaming Laptop RTX 5050 115W | $1,699.99 (as of 10/20/2026 19:20 PDT - Details) |
| 3 | Best mobile workstation | Lenovo ThinkPad P16v Gen 2 Mobile Workstation Laptop | $2,999.99 (as of 10/20/2026 19:22 PDT - Details) |
Which one should you buy?
- For big-screen gaming: You want the largest display in the group, an 18-inch 2560x1600 panel at 240Hz, plus the strongest CPU and a GeForce RTX 5070. The 3.1 kg stated weight is the trade-off for that screen. See pick 1
- For a lighter carry: At 2.18 kg, the ASUS TUF F16 is listed lighter than the 3.1 kg MSI in this guide. Its 2TB SSD also gives ample room for a large game library. See pick 2
- For workstation workloads: Engineers and video editors who need 64GB of RAM, Windows 11 Pro, and a professional RTX 2000 Ada GPU will find the Lenovo ThinkPad P16v Gen 2 aimed at their workflow. See pick 3
The 3 picks
1 Best overall
msi Crosshair 18 HX AI 18" 2560x1600 240Hz Display Gaming Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX
- GPU
- RTX 5070
- GPU memory
- 8 GB
- RAM
- 32 GB
- Storage
- 1000 GB
- Screen
- 18 in
- Refresh
- 240 Hz
- Weight
- 3.1 kg
$2,049.99 (as of 10/20/2026 19:22 PDT - Details)
The only pick with an Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX, the Crosshair also has the highest refresh rate at 240Hz and an 18-inch 2560x1600 display, the largest screen in the guide. Its RTX 5070 is the highest-numbered GeForce GPU among the picks, and 32GB of RAM covers gaming and creative work. All three laptops share the same 90Wh battery, so this pick wins on raw capability.
Pros
- 90Wh battery matched with the most powerful CPU in this guide, the Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX
- 240Hz refresh rate, the highest of the three picks
- 18-inch 2560x1600 display, the largest screen in the guide
- 32GB of RAM supports gaming and creative work
Cons
- 3.1 kg stated weight, the heaviest in the guide
- 1TB of storage is half the ASUS configuration
- 18-inch screen and 3.1 kg weight combine for a bulky package
Good fit if
- Gamers who want a large high-refresh display and a 90Wh battery
- Users who need the strongest CPU among the three picks
Skip if
- You want the lightest possible carry: the ASUS TUF F16 lists a lower weight
- You need more than 1TB of storage out of the box
Verdict: The MSI Crosshair 18 HX AI is the most capable laptop in this 90Wh group, with the strongest processor, fastest display, and a large-screen layout.
2 Best for portable gaming
ASUS TUF F16 Gaming Laptop RTX 5050 115W
- CPU
- Intel Core i5-13450HX
- GPU
- RTX 5050
- RAM
- 32 GB
- Storage
- 2000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- Refresh
- 165 Hz
- Weight
- 2.18 kg
- Battery
- 90 Wh
$1,699.99 (as of 10/20/2026 19:20 PDT - Details)
The ASUS TUF F16 lists a 2.18 kg weight, while the MSI lists 3.1 kg and the Lenovo does not state a weight. Its 2TB SSD offers twice the storage of the other two picks, and the 16-inch 165Hz display lists 100% sRGB in the product name. The RTX 5050 GPU keeps it aimed at gaming rather than workstation rendering.
Pros
- 2.18 kg stated weight; the MSI lists 3.1 kg and the Lenovo does not state a weight
- 2TB SSD, the most storage in this guide
- 16-inch 165Hz display with 100% sRGB stated in the product name
- 32GB of RAM matches the MSI pick
Cons
- Intel Core i5-13450HX is the lower processor tier among the three picks
- GPU VRAM amount not stated by the seller
- Windows edition listed only as Windows 11, not Home or Pro
Good fit if
- Gamers who move their laptop frequently and still want a 90Wh battery
- Buyers who want a large game library on a 2TB SSD straight away
Skip if
- You need a workstation GPU like the RTX 2000 Ada in the Lenovo
- You want the higher 2560x1600 resolution of the MSI pick
Verdict: The ASUS TUF F16 is the lightest 90Wh laptop in this guide and the best choice when portability and storage matter.
3 Best mobile workstation
Lenovo ThinkPad P16v Gen 2 Mobile Workstation Laptop
- CPU
- Intel Core Ultra 7 165H
- GPU
- RTX 2000 Ada
- GPU memory
- 8 GB
- RAM
- 64 GB
- Storage
- 1000 GB
- Screen
- 16 in
- Refresh
- 60 Hz
- Battery
- 90 Wh
$2,999.99 (as of 10/20/2026 19:22 PDT - Details)
This is the only pick with Windows 11 Pro, 64GB of RAM, and an RTX 2000 Ada workstation GPU with 8GB of VRAM. Its 90Wh battery matches the other two laptops, while the 60Hz display is the lowest refresh rate in the guide. The seller does not state the weight or a screen resolution.
Pros
- 64GB of RAM, the most memory in this guide
- RTX 2000 Ada workstation GPU with 8GB of VRAM
- Windows 11 Pro, the only Pro edition among the picks
- 1TB SSD plus a 90Wh battery for long work sessions
Cons
- Weight not stated by the seller
- 60Hz refresh rate, the lowest in this guide
- 1TB of storage ties with the MSI, half the ASUS capacity
Good fit if
- Engineers, architects, and video editors who run workstation-class software
- Users who want 64GB of RAM and a professional Windows 11 Pro configuration
Skip if
- You primarily game: the GeForce GPUs in the MSI and ASUS are aimed at that use
- You want a high-refresh display or a stated light weight
Verdict: The ThinkPad P16v Gen 2 is the professional workstation of the three 90Wh picks, with the most RAM and a business-oriented feature set.
Side by side
| # | Laptop | CPU | GPU | GPU memory | Rentable GPU model | RAM | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | msi Crosshair 18 HX AI 18" 2560x1600 240Hz Display Gaming Laptop | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX | RTX 5070 | 8 GB | not stated | 32 GB | 1000 GB |
| 2 | ASUS TUF F16 Gaming Laptop RTX 5050 115W | Intel Core i5-13450HX | RTX 5050 | not stated | not stated | 32 GB | 2000 GB |
| 3 | Lenovo ThinkPad P16v Gen 2 Mobile Workstation Laptop | Intel Core Ultra 7 165H | RTX 2000 Ada | 8 GB | not stated | 64 GB | 1000 GB |
How we picked
The pool for this guide contained three laptops, all listed with a 90Wh battery by their sellers. We kept every laptop in the pool: refresh rates run from 60Hz to 240Hz, GPU tiers from the RTX 5050 to the RTX 5070, memory from 32GB to 64GB, and storage from 1TB to 2TB. Our rules were simple: the battery capacity had to match 90Wh exactly, the laptops had to come from established makers, and the seller had to state the key specifications used here. The prices on the page are live and read from the store listing; they change over time. We did not test any unit. CPU, GPU, memory, storage, display, and weight figures come from the seller's listed specifications or from the maker and chip-maker pages cited below.
How to choose
What a 90Wh battery means
Battery capacity is measured in watt-hours: a 90Wh battery can in theory supply 90 watts for one hour, or 45 watts for two hours, before it is empty. Real-world runtime depends on how much power the CPU, GPU, display, and other components draw, so the same 90Wh cell can last much longer in light work than in gaming.
For context, Apple lists a 53.8Wh battery for the current MacBook Air, which is a common ultraportable size. A 90Wh battery is roughly two-thirds larger on paper. None of the runtimes in this guide are tested; capacity is only one part of endurance.
How the GPU shapes battery draw and purpose
NVIDIA's GeForce RTX 50 Series page describes the family as built on Blackwell with Max-Q efficiency and AI features like DLSS. The RTX 5070 in the MSI and the RTX 5050 in the ASUS are the 50-series GeForce GPUs in this guide, while the Lenovo uses an RTX 2000 Ada workstation GPU with 8GB of VRAM.
A high-end discrete GPU draws more power when it is active, which is one reason gaming laptops carry large 90Wh batteries. Choose the GPU family that matches the software you run: GeForce for games and creator apps, or a workstation GPU for professional workloads.
The CPU: H, HX, and Core Ultra tiers
Intel's processor naming guide explains the suffixes: H and HX both stand for highest-performance mobile chips, with HX models also unlocked, and the Core Ultra name marks Intel's premium laptop family with a neural processing unit for AI features.
In this guide, the MSI pairs its 90Wh battery with a Core Ultra 9 275HX, the Lenovo uses a Core Ultra 7 165H, and the ASUS uses a Core i5-13450HX. The spread shows how a large battery can sit alongside very different processor tiers, so pick the tier that matches your workloads rather than assuming one is right.
Memory and storage
The three picks cover three memory and storage positions. Two of the three have 32GB of RAM, the Lenovo has 64GB, and the ASUS has a 2TB SSD while the MSI and Lenovo each have 1TB.
More memory helps when you keep many applications and tabs open; more storage helps when you install large games or keep video files on the laptop. The Lenovo wins on memory, the ASUS wins on storage, and the MSI balances both at 32GB and 1TB.
Weight and screen size affect how you carry it
Only two of the three sellers state a weight: the ASUS TUF F16 at 2.18 kg and the MSI Crosshair at 3.1 kg; the Lenovo's weight is not stated by the seller. All three list a 90Wh battery, but the chassis around it differs: the MSI is an 18-inch machine, while the ASUS and Lenovo are 16-inch laptops.
Refresh rates also spread across the group: 60Hz on the Lenovo, 165Hz on the ASUS, and 240Hz on the MSI. Higher refresh displays generally draw more power when in use, so a productivity-focused 60Hz panel can be a sign of a battery-conscious design, though runtimes are not tested here.
Questions
What does 90Wh mean on a laptop spec sheet?
Wh stands for watt-hours, a measure of electrical energy capacity. A 90Wh battery can theoretically supply 90 watts for one hour or 45 watts for two hours. Actual run time depends on how much power the screen, processor, GPU, and other parts use at any moment, so a 90Wh laptop can last far longer on light tasks than in games. The sellers of all three picks list a 90Wh battery.
Is a 90Wh battery considered large?
For most laptops, yes. For context, Apple's current MacBook Air lists a 53.8Wh battery, so 90Wh is roughly two-thirds larger on paper. Large batteries are common in gaming and workstation laptops because their discrete GPUs and high-refresh displays draw more power. Runtime still depends on the rest of the system, and airline travel rules are separate from the battery spec, so check current regulations before flying.
Which of these laptops has the most memory?
The Lenovo ThinkPad P16v Gen 2 has 64GB of RAM, the most among the three. The MSI Crosshair 18 HX AI and the ASUS TUF F16 both list 32GB. If you run engineering, virtualization, or video editing workloads that keep large files in memory, the 64GB Lenovo is the standout pick in this guide.
Do these laptops use the same GPU?
No. The MSI Crosshair uses an RTX 5070, the ASUS TUF F16 uses an RTX 5050, and the Lenovo uses an RTX 2000 Ada with 8GB of VRAM. The first two are GeForce RTX 50-series GPUs from NVIDIA's Blackwell generation, while the RTX 2000 Ada is a workstation-oriented professional GPU. The ASUS seller does not state a VRAM figure.
What is the difference between Windows 11 Home and Pro in these picks?
The MSI lists Windows 11 Home, the Lenovo lists Windows 11 Pro, and the ASUS lists Windows 11 without a stated edition. Microsoft's Windows 11 specifications page covers the minimum hardware requirements for the operating system; all three picks exceed them on the specs stated. If you need Pro for your workplace, the Lenovo is the only pick that names it.
Recent updates
- : First published.


