Intel Core Ultra or AMD Ryzen AI: How to Choose
Short answer: Both families are good laptop chips, so choose by the exact model, not the brand. AMD Ryzen AI 300 and 400 chips offer more threads (up to 24) and NPUs rated 50 to 60 TOPS. Intel's Core Ultra 200V and Series 3 H chips match that NPU class, while Core Ultra 200H chips have a smaller 13 TOPS NPU but support up to 128 GB of memory. For Copilot+ AI features, check for 40+ TOPS. For integrated graphics, compare the GPU name. For heavy gaming, a dedicated GPU matters more than either CPU.
The short version
Intel Core Ultra and AMD Ryzen AI are the two main x86 chip families in current Windows laptops. Both put CPU cores, an integrated GPU and a neural processing unit (NPU) on one package, and both come in several tiers. The brand on the sticker tells you less than the model number, because the gap between two Intel chips can be larger than the gap between a matched Intel and AMD pair.
So the practical question is not which brand wins, but which chip class fits your use. The main points to compare are the core and thread count (for multitasking and heavy apps), the NPU rating (for Windows AI features), the integrated GPU (for light gaming and creative work without a dedicated graphics card) and the maximum memory the chip supports (for large projects and local AI models). The rest of this article lines up comparable chips on exactly those points, using only what Intel and AMD publish.
If you need a refresher on how each maker names its chips, read Intel Core Ultra names explained and AMD Ryzen laptop chips explained first.
Comparable chips side by side
The table pairs chips that land in the same kind of laptop: thin and light machines and performance ultrabooks. Intel figures come from each chip's specification page on intel.com. AMD figures come from AMD's own launch press releases for the Ryzen AI 300 Series (June 2024) and the Ryzen AI 400 Series (January 2026), because AMD's product pages did not load when this article was written. Those releases do not state a maximum memory size, so that cell is left open rather than guessed.
Power is not in the same column on purpose. Intel lists a Processor Base Power and a Maximum Turbo Power for each chip, while AMD lists a TDP range that the laptop maker picks from. The two numbers are measured differently, so they are not a like-for-like comparison. They do tell you the power class each chip is built for.
- Threads: every Intel chip in the table runs one thread per core, while the AMD chips run two threads per core. That is why a 12-core Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 lists 24 threads and a 16-core Core Ultra 9 285H lists 16.
- NPU: AMD's Ryzen AI 300 and 400 chips all list 50 TOPS or more. On the Intel side, the NPU depends on the line: 47 TOPS on the 258V, 50 TOPS on the Series 3 X9 388H, but 13 TOPS on the 255H and 285H.
- Memory: the Core Ultra 200H chips list the highest ceiling here, 128 GB, and accept both soldered LPDDR5/X and DDR5. The 258V is capped at 32 GB of LPDDR5X, so what you buy is what you keep.
| Chip | Cores / threads | NPU (TOPS) | Integrated graphics | Max memory | Power as the maker states it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intel Core Ultra 7 258V | 8 (4 P, 4 low-power E) / 8 | 47 | Intel Arc 140V GPU | 32 GB, LPDDR5X up to 8533 MT/s | 17 W base, 37 W max turbo |
| Intel Core Ultra 7 255H | 16 (6 P, 8 E, 2 low-power E) / 16 | 13 | Intel Arc 140T GPU | 128 GB, LPDDR5/X up to 8400 or DDR5 up to 6400 MT/s | 28 W base, 115 W max turbo |
| Intel Core Ultra 9 285H | 16 (6 P, 8 E, 2 low-power E) / 16 | 13 | Intel Arc 140T GPU (8 Xe-cores) | 128 GB, LPDDR5/X up to 8400 or DDR5 up to 6400 MT/s | 45 W base, 115 W max turbo |
| Intel Core Ultra X9 388H | 16 (4 P, 8 E, 4 low-power E) / 16 | 50 | Intel Arc B390 GPU (12 Xe-cores) | 96 GB, LPDDR5X up to 9600 MT/s | 25 W base, 80 W max turbo |
| AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 | 12 / 24 | 50 | AMD Radeon 890M | Not stated in the cited AMD release | 15 to 54 W TDP |
| AMD Ryzen AI 9 465 | 10 / 20 | 50 | AMD Radeon 880M | Not stated in the cited AMD release | 15 to 54 W TDP |
| AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 | 12 / 24 | 55 | AMD Radeon 890M | Not stated in the cited AMD release | 15 to 54 W TDP |
| AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 475 | 12 / 24 | 60 | AMD Radeon 890M | Not stated in the cited AMD release | 15 to 54 W TDP |
Where each family is offered in laptops
AMD's June 2024 launch release named Acer, ASUS, HP, Lenovo and MSI as the first makers announcing laptops with Ryzen AI 300 chips. Its January 2026 release said Ryzen AI 400 Series systems would come from Acer, ASUS, Dell, HP, GIGABYTE and Lenovo, available beginning in the first quarter of 2026. Intel lists a Q1 2026 launch date for the Core Ultra X9 388H and a Q1 2025 launch date for the Core Ultra 7 255H on its spec pages.
In practice both families appear across the same laptop makers, so you rarely have to pick a brand of laptop to get a brand of chip. What differs is the class of laptop each chip goes into. Intel's V chips (Lunar Lake) are built around a 17 W base power and fixed on-package memory, which suits thin and light machines. Intel's H chips range from a 25 W to a 45 W base power across the models above and appear in bigger ultrabooks and creator laptops. AMD's Ryzen AI 9 chips share one 15 to 54 W TDP range, so the same chip can be tuned for a thin laptop or a thicker one; check how the laptop maker describes the model.
Microsoft's developer guide lists Copilot+ PCs with AMD Ryzen AI 300 series and Intel Core Ultra 200V series chips, which is a useful shortcut if Windows AI features are on your list. Current laptops for each family are collected in the Core Ultra 7 laptops, Core Ultra 9 laptops, Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 laptops and Ryzen AI 9 465 laptops guides.
What matters for battery life
Neither brand wins battery life on its own. Battery life depends on the chip's power class, how the laptop maker tunes it, the size of the battery and the screen. The chip spec that tells you the most is the power figure: a chip designed around a low base power gives the maker room to build a laptop that runs cool and lasts a long time on light work.
Among the Intel chips above, the Core Ultra 7 258V has the lowest listed base power at 17 W, followed by the Series 3 X9 388H at 25 W. The 255H sits at 28 W and the 285H at 45 W, which points to laptops that trade some runtime for sustained speed. AMD states a 15 to 54 W range for every Ryzen AI 9 chip in the table, so the laptop maker's chosen setting matters more than the chip name.
AMD's CES 2026 release claims multi-day battery life for Ryzen AI 400 systems in its own measurements with integrated graphics and 32GB of 8533MHz memory. Treat any maker battery claim as a best case under their test conditions, and compare the battery capacity on the laptop's own spec sheet. As a rule of thumb, for all-day unplugged use, pick a low-power chip in a laptop with a large battery rather than the highest tier chip.
AI features and the NPU
The NPU is the part of the chip built to run AI tasks efficiently. Microsoft's Copilot+ PC developer guide says many of the new Windows AI features require an NPU that can run at 40+ TOPS. Every AMD chip in the table clears that bar, as do the Intel Core Ultra 7 258V (47 TOPS) and the Core Ultra X9 388H (50 TOPS). The Core Ultra 7 255H and Core Ultra 9 285H list 13 TOPS, below the figure Microsoft gives.
That does not make the H chips bad at AI. Intel lists a total platform figure of 96 TOPS for the 255H and 99 TOPS for the 285H, counting the CPU and GPU as well, and many AI apps run on the GPU rather than the NPU. It only means the Windows features that Microsoft ties to a 40+ TOPS NPU may not be offered on them. For a plain explanation of what the NPU does and does not do, see what is an NPU.
For running larger local AI models, the NPU is rarely the limit. Memory size and a dedicated GPU matter more, which is why the laptops for AI guide ranks by GPU memory. If local models are your main use, a chip with a high memory ceiling, like the 128 GB listed for the Core Ultra 200H chips, gives you more room to grow than a chip capped at 32 GB.
Gaming on integrated graphics
Both families ship with integrated GPUs strong enough for older and lighter games, and both makers name their GPUs clearly: Intel Arc 140V, 140T and B390 on the Intel side, AMD Radeon 890M and 880M on the AMD side. AMD says the Radeon graphics in Ryzen AI 300 use its RDNA 3.5 architecture. Intel lists 8 Xe-cores for the Arc 140T in the 285H and 12 Xe-cores for the Arc B390 in the X9 388H, and its Core Ultra page says select Series 3 chips have 50% more graphics cores.
Neither maker publishes a gaming frame rate on the pages cited here, so this article does not rank the GPUs against each other. What you can do is match the tier within each family: AMD pairs the Radeon 890M with its Ryzen AI 9 HX models and the 880M with the Ryzen AI 9 465, and Intel pairs the Arc B390 with Series 3 chips like the X9 388H. Integrated graphics also share system memory, so a laptop with more and faster memory gives the GPU more to work with.
If gaming is a main reason for the purchase, the CPU brand becomes a small part of the decision. A laptop with a dedicated GPU is the better choice for current demanding games, and both makers sell CPUs meant for those laptops.
How to choose
Pick the kind of laptop first, then the chip class, then the brand. If two laptops you like differ only in the chip, use the table above to compare the exact models rather than the family names.
Choose AMD Ryzen AI 9 if you want many threads for multitasking and code compiles, a 50 TOPS or higher NPU on every model, and the Radeon 890M or 880M for light gaming. Choose an Intel Core Ultra 200V chip like the 258V if you want a thin laptop with a 47 TOPS NPU and are fine with a 32 GB memory limit. Choose an Intel Core Ultra 200H chip like the 255H or 285H if you want up to 128 GB of memory support and do not need Copilot+ features. Choose an Intel Series 3 chip like the X9 388H if you want Intel's newest integrated graphics together with a 50 TOPS NPU.
What to pick for your use
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want many threads, a 50 TOPS NPU and strong integrated graphics in one chip | AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 | Best AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 Laptops: 9 Picks Compared on Specs |
| You want a newer AMD chip with a 50 TOPS NPU and Radeon 880M graphics | AMD Ryzen AI 9 465 | Best AMD Ryzen AI 9 465 Laptops in 2026: 5 Picks Compared |
| You want a thin Intel laptop for everyday work, classes and Copilot+ features | Intel Core Ultra 7 with a V suffix, such as the 258V | Best Intel Core Ultra 7 Laptops: 13 Picks Compared on Specs |
| You edit photos, write code or need more than 32 GB of memory support | Intel Core Ultra 7 or 9 with an H suffix | Best Intel Core Ultra 9 Laptops in 2026: 13 Picks Compared on Specs |
| You run local AI models or AI apps that use the GPU | Either family, with a dedicated GPU and plenty of memory | Best Laptops for AI in 2026: 13 Picks Ranked by GPU Memory |
Questions
Is Intel Core Ultra or AMD Ryzen AI better?
Neither is better across the board. Compare exact models: AMD's Ryzen AI 9 chips list more threads and a 50 TOPS or higher NPU, while Intel's Core Ultra 200H chips list up to 128 GB of memory support and its V and Series 3 chips list NPUs of 47 and 50 TOPS.
Which chips qualify for Copilot+ PC features?
Microsoft says many of the new Windows AI features require an NPU that can run at 40+ TOPS and names AMD Ryzen AI 300 series and Intel Core Ultra 200V series chips. The Ryzen AI 400 chips (50 to 60 TOPS) and the Core Ultra X9 388H (50 TOPS) also clear that figure, while the Core Ultra 7 255H and 9 285H list 13 TOPS.
Why does AMD list twice as many threads?
AMD's Ryzen AI chips run two threads per core, so the 12-core Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 lists 24 threads. The Intel Core Ultra chips in this article list one thread per core, for example 16 cores and 16 threads on the Core Ultra 9 285H.
Can I game on Intel Core Ultra or Ryzen AI integrated graphics?
Yes, for lighter and older games. The Radeon 890M, Radeon 880M and Intel Arc 140V, 140T and B390 are the integrated GPUs in the chips compared here. Neither maker publishes gaming frame rates on the pages cited, so for current demanding games choose a laptop with a dedicated GPU.
Which has better battery life?
It depends on the chip's power class and the laptop, not the brand. Intel's Core Ultra 7 258V lists a 17 W base power and AMD's Ryzen AI 9 chips a 15 to 54 W TDP range set by the laptop maker. Compare the battery capacity on each laptop's spec sheet as well.
How much memory can these chips use?
Intel lists 32 GB for the Core Ultra 7 258V, 96 GB for the Core Ultra X9 388H and 128 GB for the Core Ultra 7 255H and Core Ultra 9 285H. AMD's launch releases cited here do not state a maximum memory size, so check the laptop maker's spec page for the model you want.
Recent updates
- : First published.
Sources
- Intel: Intel Core Ultra 7 Processor 258V specifications
- Intel: Intel Core Ultra 7 Processor 255H specifications
- Intel: Intel Core Ultra 9 Processor 285H specifications
- Intel: Intel Core Ultra X9 Processor 388H specifications
- Intel: Intel Core Ultra processors
- AMD: AMD Unveils Next-Gen Zen 5 Ryzen Processors to Power Advanced AI Experiences (press release, June 2024)
- AMD: AMD Expands AI Leadership Across Client, Graphics, and Software at CES 2026 (press release)
- Microsoft: Copilot+ PCs developer guide